top of page

Simcoe & District

Learn About this Local

Stretching from Big Chute in Simcoe County all the way down to the shores of Lake Ontario in the City of Toronto, the Simcoe and District local of OMSPA includes Simcoe County, Dufferin County and the Regional Municipalities of Peel, York and the City of Toronto.  As one of the largest districts in OMSPA, our members and sugar camps offer a wide range of products, experiences and some of the best maple syrup in Ontario!

2023 Events in this Local

April 1 & 2, 2023

10:00am - 4:00pm

Maple Weekend

10 local participating sugar producers:

Backwoods Maple Syrup - Coldwater

Breedon's Maple Syrup - Alliston

Meaford Maples - Meaford

Shaw's Maple Syrup - Oro-Medonte

Hutchinson Maple Syrup - Oro-Medonte

Steamy Kettle Sugar Bush - Barrie

Maple Grove Syrup - Severn

Elsie's Creek Farm - Coldwater

William Farm - Wyebridge

Windlee Farms Maple Syrup - Tiny


This free, family-friendly, two-day event is hosted by your Local Ontario Maple Syrup Producers' Association, and is the perfect way to celebrate spring and the annual maple syrup season, while learning more about how maple syrup is made, from tree to table.

Dates - to be announced

Locations - to be announced


End of Season Clean Up

Novice Workshop

Fall Field Day

Check out our Facebook page for updates: @MapleSyrupSimcoe

Visit our News Archive for past

event photos and news stories.

Meet Your Local Representatives

Simcoe Board 2023

Jack McFadden – President

Peter Lorriman – Treasurer

Michelle O'Sullivan – Secretary

Paul Partridge – Board Member

Ken Mikoliew – Board Member

John Williams –  Board Member

Cindy Moore – Board Member

Cari Campitelli – Board Member

Contact this Local

Jack M.JPG

Jack McFadden – President


705 534-0138 

Amy Beers – Web Journalist 1


Anne Lorriman – Web Journalist 2


Spotlight on a Local Producer

Jack and Janet McFadden are the proud owners and operators of Maple Ridge Enterprises.  Located at 15766 Hwy 12, near Midland and close to the shores of Georgian Bay and the Wye Marsh Wildlife Center, Maple Ridge is a gem nestled in one of the most picturesque areas of Simcoe County.

MapleRidgeSpotLight - 4.jpg
MapleRidgeSpotLight - 3.jpg

In 2006, Jack retired from a career in the Ministry of Natural Resources and he and Janet relocated to the area after being drawn into the potential of the forest and woodlot on his property.  Back then, Jack and Janet had trees in their eyes, not syrup but that all changed in 2011 when they met Max Wagg, a long time maple producer who provided guidance and assistance in the initial years of Maple Ridges’ development. 2011 saw the sugar house construction and laying of pipe line across their bush and in 2012, Maple Ridge celebrated their first production year by enthusiastically hosting the “First Tapping for the Simcoe and District Local” to kick off their maple season!


Almost 10 years later, Maple Ridge is still a family run operation, spanning three generations including an enthusiastic pack of grandchildren, the oldest of which is an impressive and helpful 5 years of age! 


Despite the temptations to expand their operation, Jack and Janet have made the decision to keep their operation at the “hobby level” to ensure that it is a manageable size for the two of them for many years to come. To date they have 342 taps and are planning this fall for the addition of 104 new taps making a total of 446, all on pipeline with a wood fired evaporator and a vacuum system.  Jack and Janet work together, each spring starting with snow-shoes tapping in the bush and sometimes ending the season in shorts - and they love it every minute of it! 


Maple Ridge is an impressive 46 acre property, of which 27 acres are hard wood maple mixed with beech and ash. This year Jack noticed that some of his maples along the roadside, medium and larger sized trees were dying back so invited some forestry experts to consult on this issue. They determined the reason for the die back was that the area had previously been used as a grazing area and pasture for cattle which caused compaction and root exposure, all helpful information to manage their sugar bush. Maple Ridge sits on heavy clay soil resulting in producing a darker full flavoured, maple syrup.


Maple Ridge Enterprises is a 100 % maple syrup producer, selling from their farm gate, and sugar house location. For family and friends they often do small tours of their sugar house and bush explaining the operation and walking the trails on their beautiful property. New to 2021, Maple Ridge plans to participant in Fall in Love with Maple the 9 day OMSPA event this September/October, to open to the public for maple syrup production education, self-guided walks in the sugar bush and maple syrup sales.


Jack & Janet McFadden

Maple Ridge Enterprises

15766 Hwy 12, just outside of Midland

MapleRidgeSpotLight - 2.jpg
MapleRidgeSpotLight - 1.jpg

Local Classifieds

Send your classifieds to Amy Beers or Anne Lorriman

Local News

News from our area coming soon!

Visit our News Archive for past

event photos and news stories.

bottom of page